Join us

Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Newsletter

Alan Parks

Bloody January

Alan Parks

Bloody January

2018, pp. 304, Paperback
ISBN: 9781609454487
Region: Britain
Book collection: World Noir
Available as ebook Available as ebook Available as ebook
$ 17.00

The book

An exciting, evocative first-in-series noir novel set in 1973 Glasgow, a city on the cusp of a heroin epidemic, featuring detective Harry McCoy.

When an 18-year-old boy shoots a young woman dead in the middle of a busy Glasgow street and then commits suicide, McCoy knows it can’t be a random act of violence. With a newbie partner in tow, McCoy uses his underworld network to build a picture of a secret society run by Glasgow’s wealthiest family, the Dunlops. Drugs, sex, incest; every nefarious predilection is catered to, at the expense of the lower echelon of society, an underclass that includes McCoy’s best friend from reformatory school – drug-Tsar Stevie Cooper – and his on-off girlfriend, a prostitute, Janey. But with McCoy’s boss calling off the hounds, and his boss’ boss unleashing their own, the Dunlops are apparently untouchable. McCoy has other ideas.

Fans of McIlvanney’s Laidlaw books and Oliver Harris’ The Hollow Man, Ian Rankin’s and Dennis Lehane’s fiction, and TV shows like Idris Elba’s Luther will find themselves thoroughly satisfied here.

The author

Alan Parks
Alan Parks was born in Scotland and attended The University of Glasgow where he was awarded a M.A. in Moral Philosophy. Bloody January is his debut novel.

From the same country

  • Jane Gardam

    Faith Fox

    2017, pp. 384, $ 18.00
    The story of a motherless girl named Faith and her family and close friends, all of whom are determined to see her live a happy life.
  • Anthony Quinn

    Freya

    2017, pp. 560, $ 19.00
    Set immediately after the end of WWII, Freya explores the lives and friendship of two British females at a time where gender roles were changing...
  • Jane Gardam

    The Flight of the Maidens

    2017, pp. 336, $ 17.00
    Jane Gardam, author of the Old Filth Trilogy, delivers another modern classic in The Flight of the Maidens. With her characteristic wit, Gardam...
  • Rebecca Wait

    The Followers

    2017, pp. 304, $ 17.00
    The Followers is a compassionate and suspenseful story of the dissolution of a family.
  • Sarah Moss

    Signs for Lost Children

    2017, pp. 368, $ 19.00
    Award-winning author Sarah Moss's most recent work of historical fiction is a portrait of a young couple's unconventional marriage as it's tested...
  • Andrew Miller

    The Crossing

    2017, pp. 320, $ 18.00
    Andrew Miller's The Crossing is a fascinating modern tale of a brave and uncompromising woman's attempt to seize control of her life and fate.

More suggestions

  • Maurizio de Giovanni

    I Will Have Vengeance

    2018, pp. 224, $ 17.00
    Shortlisted for the 2012 Crime Writers Association Daggers Award
  • Gene Kerrigan

    The Rage

    2018, pp. 320, $ 18.00
    "Kerrigan's gripping police procedurals...are good news for readers who can appreciate the moral complexities of a flawed hero." — The New York...
  • Michel Bussi

    Time Kills

    2018, pp. 512, $ 18.00
    A fatal accident in the past, broken lives, family secrets...Michel Bussi serves up a gripping thriller, set amid the beautiful scenery of Corsica.
  • Karin Brynard

    Weeping Waters

    2018, pp. 512, $ 18.00
    Winner of the University of Johannesburg Debut Prize, ATKV Literature Prize, and twice winner of the M-Net Literature Awards “The Afrikaans...
  • Carlo Bonini, Giancarlo De Cataldo

    Suburra

    2017, pp. 528, $ 18.00
    In Ostia, a depressed coastal settlement twenty miles from the powerful and corrupt city of Rome, a mighty local crime family, the Mafia, corrupt...
  • Maurizio de Giovanni

    Glass Souls

    2017, pp. 416, $ 18.00
    The eighth entry in Maurizio de Giovanni's internationally bestselling Commissario Ricciardi series.