Join us

Cover: Laidlaw - William McIlvanney

William McIlvanney


2014, pp. 256, Paperback
ISBN: 9781609452018
Region: Scotland
Book collection: World Noir
Available as ebook Available as ebook Available as ebook
$ 17.00

The book

Introducing Jack Laidlaw, the original damaged detective. In Laidlaw, the first book in a groundbreaking crime fiction trilogy, we meet Jack Laidlaw, a hard-drinking philosopher-detective whose tough exterior masks a rich humanity and a keen intelligence. Laidlaw’s investigation into the murder of a young woman brings him into conflict with Glasgow’s hard men, its gangland villains, and the moneyed thugs who control the city.

“It’s doubtful I would be a crime writer without the influence of McIlvanney’s Laidlaw.” —Ian Rankin, author of the Rebus novels

The author

William McIlvanney
William McIlvanney is credited with being the founder of “Tartan Noir,” the school of mystery writing that includes authors such as Denise Mina, Ian Rankin, and Val McDermid, all of whom cite him as an influence and an inspiration. The Laidlaw trilogy changed the face of Scottish fiction. His novel Docherty won the Whitbread Award for Fiction. Laidlaw and The Papers of Tony Veitch both gained Silver Daggers from the Crime Writers’ Association.


From the same country

  • Cover: The Quaker - Liam McIlvanney

    Liam McIlvanney

    The Quaker

    2019, pp. 384, $ 18.00
    It is 1969 and Glasgow is in the grip of the worst winter in decades. But it’s not the weather that has Glaswegians on edge: a serial killer is...
  • Cover: February's Son - Alan Parks

    Alan Parks

    February's Son

    2019, pp. 368, $ 18.00
    FINALIST 2020 EDGAR AWARDS The second thrilling installment in the Harry McCoy series. “McCoy is so noir he makes most other...

Join Our Newsletter and receive a FREE eBook!

Stay updated on Europa’s forthcoming releases, author tours and major news.

Are you a bookseller? Click here!