Join us


A Dark Redemption shortlisted for Theakstons Award

Date: Jul 3 2013

Six novels have been shortlisted for the 2013 Theakstons Old Peculiar Crime Novel of the Year Award, including two titles from Faber.

Stav Sherez's A Dark Redemption and Chris Ewan's Safe House, both Faber, will compete with Denise Mina's Gods and Beasts (Orion), Mark Billingham's A Rush of Blood (Sphere), Stuart Neville's Stolen Souls (Vintage) and Peter May's The Lewis Man (Quercus).

A promotional campaign will now take place across 80 library services, with WH Smith featuring the titles instore.

The winner will be selected by a judging panel made up of WH Smith head of fiction David Swillman; the Guardian's John Dugdale; author and Theakstons Old Peculiar Crime Writing Festival chair Val McDermid; Theakstons executive director Simon Theakston; and author and Women's Prize founder Kate Mosse. The public will decide 20% of the vote, with readers able to vote for their favourite at from 4th July to 16th July.

The winner will be announced during the opening night of the festival, held in Harrogate on 18th July. Ruth Rendell will be given the Outstanding Contribution to Crime Fiction Award on the night.

Simon Theakston said: “It was a tough decision to get such a strong longlist down to six, as it is every year. The range and quality of the finalists is always a joy to behold, and once more it reflects a genre that is at the forefront of contemporary fiction. It is in my view the most exciting Award in the literary calendar as crime fiction is the most compelling, popular and innovative of genres."

Join Our Newsletter and receive a FREE eBook!

Stay updated on Europa’s forthcoming releases, author tours and major news.

Are you a bookseller? Click here!

Are you a librarian? Click here!