Join us

Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Newsletter

Chaitali Sen

The Pathless Sky

Chaitali Sen

The Pathless Sky

2015, pp. 320, Paperback
ISBN: 9781609452919
Region: United States
Available as ebook Available as ebook Available as ebook
$ 17.00

The book

In The Pathless Sky, Chaitali Sen conjures a world in which a nation’s political turmoil, its secret history, and growing social unrest turn life into a fragile and capricious thing and love into a necessary refuge to be defended at all cost. A world, that is, not unlike the one we live in. John, a hapless young student with a potentially brilliant academic career ahead of him, and Mariam, a shy, preternaturally perceptive woman from the north, fall in love in college. Their early careers, their seemingly mismatched natures, and the alarming changes occurring in their country conspire to keep them apart for years. But a day comes when, across a great distance, both realize that they have always loved each other. During the intervening years, however, the troubles in their country have reached a critical impasse. Government crimes have been whitewashed, personal liberty is deeply compromised, a resistance movement has emerged from the underground to take the fight for freedom to the streets, and the government militia employs increasingly draconian measures in an attempt to maintain control. When Mariam is implicated in the latest spell of anti-government actions and arrested without appeal, the consequences of her and John’s love threaten to bring dire consequences for both. The Pathless Sky is a haunting and moving novel for readers of Michael Ondaatje’s The English Patient, Jhumpa Lahiri’s The Lowland, and the novels of Amitav Ghosh. Sen’s lyrical language and fluid storytelling mirror the rhythms of political struggle itself. John and Mariam are unforgettable characters, troubled lovers who struggle to find a space for the finest human emotions in a place that is determined to abolish them.

The author

Chaitali Sen
Chaitali Sen was born in India and moved to the U.S. at the age of two. She received an MFA from Hunter College. Her short stories have been published in The Colorado Review, New England Review, Juked, among others. She lives in Austin, Texas. This past summer she was awarded a Tennessee Williams Scholarship to attend the Sewanee Writers' Conference.

Reviews

From the same country

  • Chantel Acevedo

    The Milk Brother

    2017, pp. 280, $ 17.00
    The Milk Brother is based on the true story of the Spanish princess Eulalia, an outspoken firebrand at the Bourbon court during the troubled and...
  • Laura Harrington

    A Catalog of Birds

    2017, pp. 224, $ 16.00
    Laura Harrington's new novel is a portrait of a family in the midst of recovery, the mysterious disappearance of a young woman, and of a brother and...
  • Julie Lekstrom Himes

    Mikhail and Margarita

    2017, pp. 336, $ 18.00
    Ranging between lively readings in the homes of Moscow's literary elite to the Siberian Gulag, Mikhail and Margarita recounts a passionate love...
  • Alexander Maksik

    Shelter in Place

    2016, pp. 400, $ 18.00
    Set in the Pacific Northwest in the jittery, jacked-up early 1990s, Shelter in Place, by one of America’s most thrillingly defiant contemporary...
  • Joe Flanagan

    Lesser Evils

    2016, pp. 416, $ 18.00
    In a reimagined 1957 Cape Cod, the mystifying murder of a local child brings us into a world of intrigue that culminates in a conclusion both surprising...
  • Tom Wright

    Blackbird

    2015, pp. 288, $ 17.00
    From the author of CWA Dagger Award Finalist What Dies in Summer

More suggestions

  • Andrea Camilleri

    The Sacco Gang

    2017, pp. 128, $ 14.00
    A "wild west" tale of two brothers who battle both the state and a mafia empire in 1920s Italy, from famed Italian author Andrea Camilleri.
  • Jane Gardam

    Faith Fox

    2017, pp. 272, $ 18.00
    The story of a motherless girl named Faith and her family and close friends, all of whom are determined to see her live a happy life.
  • Santiago Gamboa

    Return to the Dark Valley

    2017, pp. 424, $ 18.00
    Santiago Gamboa is one of Colombia's most exciting young writers. In the manner of Roberto Bolaño, Gamboa infuses his kaleidoscopic, cosmopolitan...
  • Nicola Lagioia

    Ferocity

    2017, pp. 368, $ 18.00
    Winner of the 2015 Strega Prize, Italy's preeminent prize for fiction, Ferocity is a cinematic suspense novel that also addresses vital social...
  • Elena Ferrante

    Frantumaglia

    2017, pp. 400, $ 17.00
    In this collection of writings Ferrante addresses her unwavering decision to remain anonymous, her literary inspirations, Italian politics and culture,...
  • Jane Gardam

    The Flight of the Maidens

    2017, pp. 280, $ 17.00
    Jane Gardam, author of the Old Filth Trilogy, delivers another modern classic in The Flight of the Maidens. With her characteristic wit, Gardam...