Join us

Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Newsletter

Chaitali Sen

The Pathless Sky

Chaitali Sen

The Pathless Sky

2015, pp. 320, Paperback
ISBN: 9781609452919
Region: United States
Available as ebook Available as ebook Available as ebook
$ 17.00

The book

In The Pathless Sky, Chaitali Sen conjures a world in which a nation’s political turmoil, its secret history, and growing social unrest turn life into a fragile and capricious thing and love into a necessary refuge to be defended at all cost. A world, that is, not unlike the one we live in. John, a hapless young student with a potentially brilliant academic career ahead of him, and Mariam, a shy, preternaturally perceptive woman from the north, fall in love in college. Their early careers, their seemingly mismatched natures, and the alarming changes occurring in their country conspire to keep them apart for years. But a day comes when, across a great distance, both realize that they have always loved each other. During the intervening years, however, the troubles in their country have reached a critical impasse. Government crimes have been whitewashed, personal liberty is deeply compromised, a resistance movement has emerged from the underground to take the fight for freedom to the streets, and the government militia employs increasingly draconian measures in an attempt to maintain control. When Mariam is implicated in the latest spell of anti-government actions and arrested without appeal, the consequences of her and John’s love threaten to bring dire consequences for both. The Pathless Sky is a haunting and moving novel for readers of Michael Ondaatje’s The English Patient, Jhumpa Lahiri’s The Lowland, and the novels of Amitav Ghosh. Sen’s lyrical language and fluid storytelling mirror the rhythms of political struggle itself. John and Mariam are unforgettable characters, troubled lovers who struggle to find a space for the finest human emotions in a place that is determined to abolish them.

The author

Chaitali Sen
Chaitali Sen was born in India and moved to the U.S. at the age of two. She received an MFA from Hunter College. Her short stories have been published in The Colorado Review, New England Review, Juked, among others. She lives in Austin, Texas. This past summer she was awarded a Tennessee Williams Scholarship to attend the Sewanee Writers' Conference.

Reviews

From the same country

  • Laura Harrington

    A Catalog of Birds

    2017, pp. 224, $ 16.00
    Laura Harrington's new novel is a portrait of a family in the midst of recovery, the mysterious disappearance of a young woman, and of a brother and...
  • Julie Lekstrom Himes

    Mikhail and Margarita

    2017, pp. 336, $ 18.00
    Ranging between lively readings in the homes of Moscow's literary elite to the Siberian Gulag, Mikhail and Margarita recounts a passionate love...
  • Alexander Maksik

    Shelter in Place

    2016, pp. 400, $ 18.00
    Set in the Pacific Northwest in the jittery, jacked-up early 1990s, Shelter in Place, by one of America’s most thrillingly defiant contemporary...
  • Joe Flanagan

    Lesser Evils

    2016, pp. 416, $ 18.00
    In a reimagined 1957 Cape Cod, the mystifying murder of a local child brings us into a world of intrigue that culminates in a conclusion both surprising...
  • Tom Wright

    Blackbird

    2015, pp. 288, $ 17.00
    From the author of CWA Dagger Award Finalist What Dies in Summer
  • Jennifer Tseng

    Mayumi and the Sea of Happiness

    2015, pp. 272, $ 16.00
    Exquisitely written, Mayumi and the Sea of Happiness is part wry confession, part serious meditation. At its most anxious, it’s a book about...

More suggestions

  • Nicola Lagioia

    Ferocity

    2017, pp. 368, $ 18.00
    Winner of the 2015 Strega Prize, Italy's preeminent prize for fiction, Ferocity is a cinematic suspense novel that also addresses vital social...
  • Jane Gardam

    The Flight of the Maidens

    2017, pp. 280, $ 17.00
    Jane Gardam, author of the Old Filth Trilogy, delivers another modern classic in The Flight of the Maidens. With her characteristic wit, Gardam...
  • Rebecca Wait

    The Followers

    2017, pp. 304, $ 17.00
    The Followers is a compassionate and suspenseful story of the dissolution of a family.
  • Laura Harrington

    A Catalog of Birds

    2017, pp. 224, $ 16.00
    Laura Harrington's new novel is a portrait of a family in the midst of recovery, the mysterious disappearance of a young woman, and of a brother and...
  • Hiromi Kawakami

    The Nakano Thrift Shop

    2017, pp. 224, $ 16.00
    Featuring a delightfully offbeat cast of characters, The Nakano Thrift Shop is a generous-hearted portrayal of human relationships by one of Japan's...
  • Jean-Christophe Rufin

    Checkpoint

    2017, pp. 304, $ 18.00
    A work of suspense and psychological tension set in the world of international humanitarian aid, Checkpoint is the latest bestselling novel by...