Join us

Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Newsletter

Maurizio de Giovanni

I Will Have Vengeance: The Winter of Commissario Ricciardi

Maurizio de Giovanni

I Will Have Vengeance: The Winter of Commissario Ricciardi

2013, pp. 192, Paperback
ISBN: 9781609450946
Translated by: Anne Milano Appel
Region: Italy
Book collection: World Noir
Available as ebook Available as ebook Available as ebook
$ 16.00
Sample chapter Sample chapter Sample chapter

The book

Shortlisted for the 2012 Crime Writers Association Daggers Award

Naples, March 1931: a bitter wind stalks the city streets, and murder lies at its chilled heart. When one of the world's greatest tenors, Maestro Vezzi, is found brutally murdered in his dressing room at Naples' famous San Carlo Theatre, the enigmatic and aloof Commissario Ricciardi is called in to investigate. Arrogant and bad-tempered, Vezzi was hated by many, but with the livelihoods of the opera company at stake, who would have committed this callous act? Ricciardi, along with his loyal colleague, Maione, is determined to discover the truth. But Ricciardi carries his own secret: will it help him solve tihs murder? Fans of Donna Leon and Manuel Vazquez Montalban will thrill to this new voice in crime fiction. This is the first book in a quartet of masterful crime novels set in fascist Italy--the series has taken European readers by storm. Europa Editions will publish all four books in the quartet.

The author

Maurizio de Giovanni
Maurizio de Giovanni lives and works in Naples. In 2005, he won a writing competition for unpublished authors with a short story set in the thirties about Commissario Ricciardi, which was then turned into the first novel of the series. His books have been successfully translated into French, Spanish and German, and are now available in English for the first time.

Reviews

From the same country

  • Nicola Lagioia

    Ferocity

    2017, pp. 368, $ 18.00
    Winner of the 2015 Strega Prize, Italy's preeminent prize for fiction, Ferocity is a cinematic suspense novel that also addresses vital social...
  • Andrea Camilleri

    The Revolution of the Moon

    2017, pp. 208, $ 16.00
    From the author of the Inspector Montalbano series comes the remarkable account of an exceptional woman who rises to power in 17th century Sicily...
  • Fabio Genovesi

    The Breaking of a Wave

    2017, pp. 432, $ 18.00
    Winner of the 2015 Strega Prize for Young Authors A young girl struggles with her beloved brother's accidental death, her mother's depression,...
  • Domenico Starnone

    Ties

    2017, pp. 144, $ 16.00
    WINNER Inaugural edition of The Bridge Prize for Best Novel They were young and in love and they sought freedom from their...
  • Elena Ferrante

    Frantumaglia

    2016, pp. 400, $ 24.00
    In this collection of writings Ferrante addresses her unwavering decision to remain anonymous, her literary inspirations, Italian politics and culture,...
  • Elena Ferrante

    The Beach at Night

    2016, pp. 48, $ 13.00
    Accompanied by the oneiric illustrations of Mara Cerri, The Beach at Night is a story for all of Ferrante’s many ardent fans.

Of the same genre

  • Philippe Georget

    Crimes of Winter

    2017, pp. 368, $ 18.00
    Crime, suspense, and marital woes combine in this atmospheric procedural set in the seemingly quiet Mediterranean town of Perpignan.
  • Massimo Carlotto

    For All the Gold in the World

    2016, pp. 160, $ 15.00
    In Northeast Italy, Marco Buratti, alias "the Aligator," is investigating a botched robbery that ended in a brutal murder. His client is just twelve...
  • Piergiorgio Pulixi

    The Night of the Panthers

    2015, pp. 288, $ 17.00
    An action-packed thriller about dirty cops and ruthless drug cartels
  • Massimo Carlotto

    Gang of Lovers

    2015, pp. 208, $ 15.00
    A new installment in the popular Alligator series
  • Jean-Claude Izzo

    Solea

    2013, pp. 224, $ 15.00
    Ex-cop, loner, would-be bon vivant, Fabio Montale returns in the stunning conclusion to the Marseilles Trilogy
  • Jean-Claude Izzo

    Chourmo

    2013, pp. 256, $ 15.00
    His cousin's disappearance drags Montale back onto the mean streets of a violent, crime-infested Marseilles.