Join us

Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Newsletter

Kavita Bedford & Bryan Washington in conversation

May 11

#OurBrilliantFriends is back!

This May 11, join us for an international literary evening spanning two continents (and many more time zones!).

Sydney-based author Kavita Bedford, whose newly-released debut novel Friends and Dark Shapes was hailed by The Guardian as “an intimate, epiphanic portrait of millennial city life” will be in converation with Bryan Washington, a National Book Award 5 Under 35 honoree, author of the award-winning story collection Lot, and the bestselling novel Memorial.

The conversation will be introduced by Michael Reynolds, editor-in-chief of Europa Editions, and will be followed by a live audience Q&A.

Wry, relatable, lyrical, and beautifully told, Friends and Dark Shapes tells the story of a group of housemates in Sydney’s inner city contending with gentrification, divisive politics, stalled careers, their own complicated privilege as second-generation Australians, and the evolving world of dating.

Praised by Jenny Offil as “astonishingly assured and full of razor sharp observations about what it means to live precariously in a changing city,” Friends and Dark Shapes introduces a bold new Australian voice to American readers.

Get your copy today

Order your copy of Friends and Dark Shapes today from one of our indie bookstore partners: Brazos Bookstore and Skylight Books.

Register here

Date & Time

Tuesday, May 11
8:00 p.m. (ET) ・7:00 p.m. (CT)・5:00 p.m. (PT)
10:00 a.m (AEST, on Wednesday, May 12)

Program

8:00 p.m. (ET) - Start (Join the meeting by clicking on the Zoom link)
8:05-8:35 - Conversation
8:35-8:45 - Reading
8:45-9:00 - Audience Q&A: Click here to submit your questions


PLEASE NOTE: All participants will receive an email with the link to join the Zoom meeting ONE HOUR before the event starts on May 11.

 

Join Our Newsletter and receive a FREE eBook!

Stay updated on Europa’s forthcoming releases, author tours and major news.

Are you a bookseller? Click here!

X