Join us

Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Newsletter

ATLANTIS: A conversation in search of beauty

December 3

A conversation about beauty, architecture, and travel

World-renowned architect Renzo Piano (the New Whitney Museum, the Pompidou Center, Potsdamer Platz, The New York Times Building, The Academy Museum of Motion Pictures, and many more) and his son Carlo, a well-regarded journalist, will be in conversation with poet and translator Will Schutt (Westerly), and New York Times architecture critic Michael Kimmelman (The Accidental Masterpiece), to celebrate the publication of Atlantis: A Journey in Seach of Beauty.

One late summer day Renzo and Carlo Piano set sail from their native Genoa, Italy to search for Atlantis, the perfect city, built to harbor a perfect society. Atlantis: A Journey in Search of Beauty is the chronicle of their journey across the world, to countries and cities where Piano has built some of his most iconic projects. But it is also the record of their humorous, irreverent, erudite, and always entertaining conversations, on subjects as varied and compelling as their own relationship, fathers and sons, the idea of travel itself, and perhaps most notably architecture and space.

This December 3, join us for a virtual journey around the world and an afternoon conversation about the book, Renzo Piano’s career and legacy, translation, architecture, and place.

REGISTER HERE

Registration for this event is free, but please consider making a minimum donation of $5 when you register.

All proceeds will benefit Books Across Borders, a literary nonprofit that seeks to build global connections in the book industry, increase access to international and own voices titles for all readers, and foster cultural empathy through literature.

Hosted by Europa Editions in partnership the Italian Cultural Institutes in LondonLos Angeles,  New YorkSan Francisco, and Washington, D.C.; The Ivy Bookshop (Baltimore, MD); and Books Across Borders.

12:30 pm (ET) on Thursday, December 3 (9:30 am PT・5:30pm GMT ・6:30pm GMT+1)

Get your copy of Atlantis today from The Ivy Bookshop

Join Our Newsletter and receive a FREE eBook!

Stay updated on Europa’s forthcoming releases, author tours and major news.

Are you a bookseller? Click here!

X